State Heritage Brewarrina Aboriginal Mission

Brewarrina Aboriginal Mission

The Mission at Brewarrina opened in 1886 on a site 14km upstream from the township of Brewarrina on the Barwon River. Aboriginal people from different tribes and family groups from outlaying stations and communities as far away as Tiboburra and Angledool were forcibly moved from their traditional homes and relocated to Brewarrina. 

The Brewarrina Mission became home to people from the Ngemba, Murrawarri, Weilan, Gamilaraay, Wiradjuri, Yorta-Yorta, Barkindji, Wongaibon, Koamu and Burranbinja Tribes. Mission life caused tremendous disruption to the way Aboriginal people lived, as european influences were imposed.

It was generally forbidden for Aboriginal people to practice their traditional culture and use their traditional language resulting in the destruction of traditional social structures.

Permission must be obtained from the local Aboriginal Land Council to enter the Brewarrina Aboriginal Mission.

For more information:

Contact Details

Brewarrina Local Aboriginal Land Council

or alternately

Brewarrina Visitor Information & Exhibition Centre
Phone: 02 6830 5152
Fax: 02 6839 2642