Road Condition Report

In the event of flooding, accidents or roadwork, road closure information within NSW can be obtained by visiting the RTA Live Traffic NSW website. The latest closures within our Shire will be available below.

Road Closure Report - Wednesday 23rd August 2023

For any enquiries regarding the Road Closure Report please contact Council's Technical Services Department on 02 6830 5100 or email council at

Please ensure to check surrounding Road Condition Reports as our unsealed road network connects with other Shires.

Bourke Shire Council

Bogan Shire Council

Walgett Shire Council

Cobar Shire Council

Roads & Traffic

Click Below to see the Brewarrina Shire Council Road Network
BSC-Road Network.pdf

Council is responsible for a sealed and unsealed road network of over 1,700 km across the region. To protect and prolong the life or our roads, Council works with a number of organisations including Transport for New South Wales (TfNSW) whilst managing regular maintenance programs.

The road network within the Shire boundaries fall into one of the following categories:

State Highways

These are principal roads which connect the various parts of New South Wales. Council has the following two state highways:

Council is responsible for the maintenance of both Kamilaroi Highway (SH29) (Bourke Rd to the West and  Walgett Rd to the East) and Arthur Hall VC Way (MR70) (Coolabah Rd to the South); the work is funded through TfNSW. All the state highways within the Shire have a sealed surface.

 Regional Roads

These roads supplement the TfNSW state highway network and link the various regions between Brewarrina and neighboring Shires. Council has the following regional roads which vary in surface type:

 The maintenance and upgrade for regional roads are funded by TfNSW block grant.

 Local Roads

These roads include the Council’s public network located in rural areas outside shire townships. The majority of the local network is formed dry weather access only. Council has made progress to gravel key links with the local network to provide all weather access, such as Narran Lake Rd, Twin Rivers Road, and Goodooga – Brenda Rd.

The funding for the local network is provided by the Commonwealth - Road to Recovery program (R2R) and the State Financial Assistance Grant (FAG).

 Access or Spur Roads

The spur roads provide access to private properties; Council policy No. ENG4/1 states:

“Brewarrina Shire Council will assist with the cost of maintaining roads known as access or spur roads to parcels of land within Brewarrina Shire to which this policy applies, by the maintenance grading at no cost to the landholder, of these roads up to the boundary of the last separately owned landholding from time to time as considered necessary, when Council’s earth moving plant is in the vicinity. The maximum contribution to be made will be one grading in any twelve month period.”

Traditionally Council maintained 15 spur roads, of this list Goonoo Goonoo and Old Mission Rd have been included as part of the local road network; this was based on recommendations form the NSW Department of Industry; a summary of the spur roads is listed below.

Urban Streets

Council have two main towns Brewarrina and Goodooga, with three smaller settlements, Gongolgon, Weilmoringle and New Angledool. Most of the streets in Brewarrina and Goodooga are sealed.

In addition to the urban streets, Brewarrina and Goodooga include laneways behind the houses; these are used to accommodate utility services.